Wednesday, 14 September 2011

Aleem Dar named Umpire of the Year again

Umpire Aleem Dar of Pakistan on Monday won the David Shepherd Trophy for the ICC Umpire of the Year for the third year running.
Other competitors were Steve Davis, Ian Gould and five-time winner Simon Taufel. Dar, 43, officiated in five Tests and 13 ODIs during the voting period, including the World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka. Dar was voted to the award by the 10 full member captains as well as the eight-man elite panel of match referees. He received the award from ICC Hall of Fame 2011 inductee Alan Davidson.
“It’s a great honour and I’m thankful to everyone at the ICC and also my colleagues on the Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires along with the Pakistan Cricket Board,” Dar said. “I’d like to also thank all my family for all their support.”


No comments:

Post a Comment